Technician Steering Committee

The Technician Steering Committee aims to disseminate information on opportunities available to technicians, to provide a means to recognise the achievements of technical staff, and to create a visible, connected, community for this population within the University of Edinburgh as the institution works towards the Technician Commitment pillars; Visibility, Recognition, Career Development and Sustainability.

Our remit

Our 1000 technicians are highly trained and experienced individuals with diverse skills working across all subject areas. Technical staff play an important role in research, teaching and supporting our students.

The group is leading on the development and implementation of the Technician Commitment action plan. 

Current members

Chair Sally Morgan Technical Services Manager
Campus Coordinators    


Takeshi Fujisawa Facilities Manager, Centre for Cardiovascular Science
          Central Anne McKenna Technical Manager, Edinburgh College of Art
          Easter Bush Anna Raper Bio-Imaging and Flow Cytometry Facility Manager, The Roslin Institute
          King's Buildings David Hills Teaching Support Technical Manager, School of Biological Sciences
           Western General  Andrea Robertson Lab Manager, Institute of Genetics and Cancer
Communications Charli Corcoran Zebrafish Facility Technician, Institute of Genetics and Cancer
Secretary Alison Fulton Senior Media Prep and Wash-up Technician
Unions Mark Patrizio Senior Technical Officer, CDBS, Biomedical Sciences, Convenor JULC & Chair, Unite the Union
Human Resources Representative Tim Goodman HR Partner, Talent and Development
Librarians Representative Dominic Tate Head of Library Research Services
IT Staff Representative TBC  
Regular Members    
  Carolynn Cairns Senior Research Technician, HART, Centre for Cardiovascular Sciences
  Rennos Fragkoudis Facility Manager, Institute of Quantitative Biology, Biochemistry and Biotechnology
  Natalie Homer Core Manager, Mass Spectrometry, Edinburgh Clinical Research Facility (former Chair)
  Shonna Johnston Flow Cytometry Facility Manager, Centre for Inflammation Research 
  Lee Murphy Genetics Manager, Edinburgh Clinical Research Facility
  Javier Santoyo-Lopez Facility Manager, School of Biological Sciences Classroom
  Heather Scott Technician, Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies

Minutes from meetings 2023 onwards

Found here.


Terms of Reference

To be reviewed and added in 2023.